The Cloud Prophet Trilogy by Megg Jensen Review: Yes all three books 4.5 Stars #book #review #bookreview #blog

Anathema Megg Jensen



Book Blurb:   Forget prophecy. Make your own destiny. 

Sheltered from the outside world with no hope for escape, slave girl Reychel dreads her fifteenth birthday – when her master’s symbol is burned on the back of her bald scalp. Her best friend disappears the night before, leaving her to face the branding ceremony alone. She soon discovers nothing is as it seems when people desperate for freedom beg for Reychel’s help.

Can Reychel learn to believe in herself?

Review: I must admit to only picking up the first book in the series because it was free. But, I’m glad I did. Anathema describes a world where the ruling class has subjugated a conquered people into slavery. Still, they hold hope for a prophet, a gifted person with the sight, to free them. Reychel, the main character soon discovers her role in this world.
This is just the beginning of a wild adventure of discovery.  Finding out she has more power than she ever imagined, and her master had good reason to be afraid of her, she along with her new friends, set out to set their people free.

The magical aspects were well developed and it was thrilling to find out what gifts the main characters possessed. Reychel is a character you root for. As you can see from this review, the book fascinated me enough to purchase book two of the series. 4 Stars



Oubliette Megg Jensen



Book Blurb:  Reychel thought she was finally free. She was wrong.

Everyone saw her gift of prophecy as a blessing, but her gift is uncontrollable. No one alive can teach her to manipulate her unique gift and the answers she needs lie buried within a madman’s journals.

She’s thrust in the midst of a brewing war and the only uniting factor for her people is their belief in the Prophet. Will Reychel learn to control her gift or will she be forced to deliver a false prophecy that could lead her people into a violent, unwinnable war?

Review:  In the second book of the series, Reychel finds freedom comes at a price. Everyone is depending on her, and her gift, to fulfill a prophesy. With no one alive to show her how to use her gift of sight, it is left up to her to learn to control it.

There are many new characters in the second book, ones that are helping Reychel, others that are out to stop her at any cost. A love interest introduced in the first book develops further as Reychel and Mark work together.

Oubliette begins where Anathema left off. Reychel manages to escape to a new kingdom which she hopes is safer than the one she left behind. The magic expands, as portals and new powers are introduced.

Oubliette kept my interest enough to purchase the final book in the trilogy. I had to find out what happens to Reychel and Mark, and whether they would finally have that old, boring life they dreamed of.  4Stars


Severed Megg JensenAmazon


Book Blurb: Reychel knows her gift of prophecy will lead to madness and now she is at her most vulnerable. The enemy army will attempt to sever her from everything she’s ever known: her homeland, her friends, Mark, and her gift. Even at her weakest, she refuses to give up on her desire to end the war between the Malborn and the Serenians. Reychel would do anything, even come back from the dead, to conquer the enemy and reunite with Mark.

Book Review:  I dived right into Severed just after finishing Oubliette.This was my favorite of the three book series. In Severed, Reychel became the heroine she was meant to be. Her powers finally came in and she did not rely on others to protect her. The love between her and Mark also grew into a more equal partnership. The ending was perfect.

All the major characters are back, including some from the first book. I loved that Reychel did not lose her humanity. A great trilogy with a swashbuckling ending. 5 Stars





Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: